Library Blogs

Library blogs feature book reviews, author interviews, and more.

Subscribe

Fiction Book Review: The Kind Worth Killing

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson is a compelling psychological thriller full of twists you never see coming. Lily and Ted meet at an airport bar and strike up a conversation. Freed by the thought of never seeing Lily again, Ted confesses that his beautiful wife is having an affair and that...

More

Explore the World with National Geographic Kids

National Geographic for Kids shows the world in a way you've never see it before. Explore science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space through amazing videos and pictures. Keep learning with their in-depth books, magazines, and maps. Use National Geographic for Kids inside the Library, or use...

More

Picture Book Review: A Wonderful Year by Nick Bruel

Four interrelated stories follow an imaginative young girl, a purple hippo, and a very brave tree through a fun-filled year marked by winter snow, spring splendor, summer heat, and autumn gratitude. Told primarily through comic-style panels, A Wonderful Year strikes a balance between moments of...

More

Fiction Book Review: A Touch of Stardust

A Touch of Stardust is a fun behind the scenes look at Hollywood in the 1930s. Julie Crawford is an ambitious Smith grad who is newly arrived in Hollywood to pursue her dream of being a screenwriter. The novel opens with Julie on a Hollywood set to watch the burning of Atlanta (the first scene shot...

More

Youth Nonfiction Review: Separate Is Never Equal by Duncan Tonatiuh

Would you dare to fight for what you believe in, even if the whole world seemed to be against you? This is the true story of one brave young girl and her family who do exactly that, and make the world a better place in the process. In 1944, the Mendez family moved from the city of Santa Ana,...

More

Picture Book Review: Thank You, Octopus by Darren Farrell

Looking to add a new book to your bedtime story repertoire? Let the kids giggle themselves to sleep with this debut picture book that brims with cartoony illustrations and silly dialogue. When a well-meaning octopus helps his friend get ready for bed, hilarity ensues. Simple, but memorably warm and...

More

Youth Fiction Review: The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

After leaving Ireland in the hope of finding a better life in England, Molly and Kip are hired by the Windsor family to work as servants at their secluded mansion. But as Molly and Kip get to know the dilapidated Windsor estate and the Windsors themselves, it becomes evident that nothing is as it...

More

Teen Review: Falling into Place

Happy New Year! Here is our first teen book review of 2015, written by Maria L., one of our Teen Advisory Board volunteers:  Fans of Ellen Hopkins and Jay Asher will love Amy Zhang's first novel, Falling into Place. In this teen fiction novel, Amy Zhang demonstrates that popularity doesn't...

More

Fiction Book Review: Vanessa and Her Sister

Vanessa and Her Sister by Priya Parmar is an evocative historical fiction novel about the charged relationship between Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf. Set in the early adulthood of the sisters (1905 – 1912) before Vanessa became a well-known painter and Virginia an acclaimed novelist, this is an...

More

Picture Book Review: Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato

Elliot is a little elephant in a very big city. While Elliot loves living amid all the hustle and bustle, sometimes being small is lonely and frustrating. Doorknobs always seem to be just a bit beyond Elliot's reach, and even brushing his teeth is impossible without a large box to stand on. But...

More