Library Blogs

Library blogs feature book reviews, author interviews, and more.

Subscribe

Picture Book Review: Thank You, Octopus by Darren Farrell

Looking to add a new book to your bedtime story repertoire? Let the kids giggle themselves to sleep with this debut picture book that brims with cartoony illustrations and silly dialogue. When a well-meaning octopus helps his friend get ready for bed, hilarity ensues. Simple, but memorably warm and...

More

Youth Fiction Review: The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

After leaving Ireland in the hope of finding a better life in England, Molly and Kip are hired by the Windsor family to work as servants at their secluded mansion. But as Molly and Kip get to know the dilapidated Windsor estate and the Windsors themselves, it becomes evident that nothing is as it...

More

Teen Review: Falling into Place

Happy New Year! Here is our first teen book review of 2015, written by Maria L., one of our Teen Advisory Board volunteers:  Fans of Ellen Hopkins and Jay Asher will love Amy Zhang's first novel, Falling into Place. In this teen fiction novel, Amy Zhang demonstrates that popularity doesn't...

More

Fiction Book Review: Vanessa and Her Sister

Vanessa and Her Sister by Priya Parmar is an evocative historical fiction novel about the charged relationship between Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf. Set in the early adulthood of the sisters (1905 – 1912) before Vanessa became a well-known painter and Virginia an acclaimed novelist, this is an...

More

Picture Book Review: Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato

Elliot is a little elephant in a very big city. While Elliot loves living amid all the hustle and bustle, sometimes being small is lonely and frustrating. Doorknobs always seem to be just a bit beyond Elliot's reach, and even brushing his teeth is impossible without a large box to stand on. But...

More

Youth Fiction Review: Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin

Rose is different from her fellow 5th graders, and she knows it. Nobody else in her class keeps a list of homonyms. Nobody else likes to think about prime numbers. Nobody else is quite so rigidly devoted to following routines and obeying rules. And nobody else shares Rose's official diagnosis of "...

More

Teen Review: The Scar Boys

Looking for something good to read? Here's a book review written by Sarah H., one of our Teen Advisory Board members:  Fantasy is taking over these days. Dystopian novels are all the rage and it is hard to find new books that aren't fantasy, dystopian, or sci-fi. I was volunteering at the...

More

Youth Graphic Nonfiction Review: El Deafo by Cece Bell

Starting a new school is never easy, but it's especially challenging for Cece, who is "severely to profoundly" deaf after a bout of meningitis. Because her new school doesn't offer special classes for children with hearing loss, Cece learns to read lips and is fitted with a bulky but powerful new...

More

Picture Book Review: Construction by Sally Sutton

A hard-working, multicultural crew uses a variety of big machines to complete a very special building project: a library! Rhythmic text, driven by strong verbs and onomatopoeia, makes Construction a fun read-aloud. Subtle shifts in perspective allow readers to glimpse different parts of the site as...

More

Spooky Reads for Teens

Looking for your next great book to read? Here's a tantalizing mix of new titles offering chills and thrills, perfect reading for this time of year. So, give one of these a try--if you dare. Don't see anything you like? Ask one of our librarians for a recommendation or try this list: Teens' Top Ten...

More