Computer Classes

computer class students

Sign up starts Thursday, April 17 at 9:00 a.m.

Call 847-358-5881 ext. 167 or sign up online.

  • Classes are limited to individuals 12 years and older.
  • Classes may be cancelled due to low enrollment. Registered students will be notified of the cancellation.

Tell Us What You Think

Help us design better classes for you. Please take a moment to fill out this Computer Class Evaluation.


Microsoft Office 2010

Microsoft Office 2010 classes are open to valid District cardholders.

Word Basic

  • Tuesday, May 13, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Monday, May 19, 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 10, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

PDF icon Handout

Word Intermediate

  • Wednesday, May 14, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 22, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 12, 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout 1

PDF iconHandout 2

Prerequisite: Word Basics

Excel Basic

  • Tuesday, May 6, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, June 16, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday July 15, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 14, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF icon Handout

Excel icon Sample Spreadsheet

Excel Intermediate

  • Tuesday, May 13, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, June 30, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday July 29, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 21, 6:30 – 8:00 pm

PDF icon Handout

Excel icon Sample Spreadsheet

Prerequisite: Excel Basics

Publisher: Newsletters

  • Wednesday, June 18, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

PowerPoint: Basic

  • Wednesday, May 7, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 17, 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

PowerPoint: Custom Animation

  • Wednesday, July 9, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Prerequisite: PowerPoint Basics

PowerPoint: Design Themes and the Slide Master

  • Wednesday, August 6, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Prerequisite: PowerPoint Basics

Access: Part One

  • Thursday, July 17, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Prerequisite: Word and Excel Intermediate or equivalent experience

Access: Part Two

  • Thursday, July 24, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Covers forms, queries, reports, and importing/exporting data.

Prerequisite: Access Part One




Internet

Facebook 101

  • Tuesday, May 20, 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Get started with the basics including signing up, filling out a profile, and adding friends.

Twitter for Business

  • Wednesday, May 21, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn the basics of promotion, customer engagement, and branding on Twitter.

Facebook: Ten Ways to Stay Safe

  • Tuesday, June 3, 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Protect your privacy and security with ten simple tips.

You Can’t Google This! Become Health and Wealth Smart

  • Thursday, June 5, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn how to be an informed patient and shopper using Library resources.

Beyond Monster.com

  • Tuesday, June 10, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Discover library resources and online tools to help you search for jobs, get online resume assistance, develop workplace skills, and more.

Pinterest vs. Instagram

  • Tuesday, June 24, 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

We’ll explore these popular photo sites and discuss why you may want to use one, or the other, or both!

Google Drive

  • Tuesday, July 8, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, August 5, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

PDF iconHandout

Learn how to use Google Drive to archive files, collaborate on projects, and as a Microsoft Office alternative. Patrons should create a Google account before class.

How to Sell Your Stuff Online

  • Tuesday, July 8, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, August 18, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Is your house starting to look like a warehouse? Find out how to turn your clutter into cash using Craigslist, eBay, Amazon, and Etsy.

Facebook: Our Favorite Tips and Tools

  • Thursday, July 10, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

You know the basics; now what? Learn to manage your newsfeed, create friend lists, get into groups, and tag like a pro.

Getting the Most Out of Your Email

  • Monday, July 21, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Are you just replying and forwarding your email messages? Unlock the full potential of your email account.

Get on YouTube

  • Wednesday, July 30, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn how to upload and share your own videos on YouTube.

 

Basic Classes

Basic Computer Boot Camp

  • Thursday, June 26, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Monday, August 11, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

pdf iconHandout - Windows Basics

pdf iconHandout - Browser Basics

pdf icon
Handout - Internet Basics

Start with a review of mouse skills and work your way to becoming an Internet surfer in this fast-paced class. This class is for beginners or “near beginners.”

iPad Basics

  • Wednesday, June 25, 1:00 – 2:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, August 12, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

You will learn the iPad features, controls and settings as well as how to navigate and organize your screens.

iPad for Older Adults

  • Wednesday, May 14, 1:00 – 2:30 p.m.
  • Friday, July 18, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

Understand the basics of using an iPad and downloading some of the best senior-centric apps. Discover iPad features, controls, and settings as well as how to navigate and organize your screens.

Computer Class Series for Older Adults

Set 1: 1:00 – 2:30 p.m.

  • Monday, June 2
  • Wednesday, June 4
  • Monday, June 9
  • Wednesday, June 11

Set 2: 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

  • Tuesday, July 22
  • Thursday, July 24
  • Tuesday, July 29
  • Thursday, July 31

pdf iconHandout - Mousing Around 1

pdf iconHandout - Mousing Around 2

pdf iconHandout - The Browser

pdf iconHandout - Browser Basics

pdf iconHandout - Windows Basics

Start from the beginning and improve your computer skills. This series is progressive. When you sign up, you are committing to all four classes.

No mouse skills required.

 

eBooks & Audiobooks

Bring your device, account information, and Palatine Library card with PIN.

Download to Tablets and Smartphones

  • Thursday, May 22, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Download ebooks and audiobooks to your smartphone or tablet using MyMediaMall or 3M Cloud Library.

Compatible devices: Android smartphones/tablets, Nook Color/HD, Nook Tablet/HD, iPad/ iPhone

Download to Kindle Fire, Kindle Fire HD, and Kindle App

  • Wednesday, May 28, 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.

Download ebooks and audiobooks to your Kindle Fire/HD using MyMediaMall or 3M Cloud Library.

Compatible devices: Kindle Fire/HD, iPad/iPhone with Kindle App downloaded, Android smartphones/tablets with Kindle App downloaded.



 

Digital Media Programs

There’s an App for That!

  • Thursday, June 5, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

App share! We will demo some of our favorite apps on Apple and Android devices. Do you use some apps you think are fabulous? Come share your favorite apps with us.

iPhotography: Part One

  • Thursday, June 12, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Learn the basics on how to take, edit, and share beautiful photos using your iPhone or iPad. Review several free apps that will take your mobile photography skills to the next level.

iPhotography: Part Two

  • Thursday, June 19, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Move beyond “point and shoot” in this iPhone/iPad photography class. Learn how to use multiple apps to create stunning works of art.

Drop-In Tech Week

  • Tuesday, July 15, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 16, 5:00 – 7:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 17, 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.

Having problems downloading ebooks or magazines from the Library to your tablet? Did you recently purchase a laptop and don’t know where to begin? Stop by one of our drop-in tech hours for assistance.

Hitchhiker's Guide to Cloud Technology

  • Tuesday, July 22, 6:00 – 8:00 p.m.

This beginner to intermediate class will discuss what is meant by the “Cloud” and how to use it for online storage, hosting, collaboration, apps, and online security.