Computer Classes

computer class students

Classes are open to valid District cardholders and are limited to individuals 12 years and older.

Classes may be cancelled due to low enrollment. Registered students will be notified of the cancellation.

All classes require basic mouse and keyboarding skills.

Tell Us What You Think

Help us design better classes for you. Please take a moment to fill out this Computer Class Evaluation.

Microsoft Office 2010

blue arrowSign up 30 days prior to start of the class.

Call 847-358-5881 ext. 167 or sign up online.

Word Basic

  • Wednesday, October 21, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF icon Handout

Word Intermediate

  • Wednesday, October 28, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout 1

PDF iconHandout 2

Prerequisite: Word Basics

Excel Basic

  • Monday, September 14, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 3, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 17, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.

PDF icon Handout

Excel icon Sample Spreadsheet

Navigate and format a spreadsheet, enter basic formulas and functions, and create a basic chart.

Excel Intermediate

  • Monday, September 28, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 10, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 24, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.

PDF icon Handout

Excel icon Sample Spreadsheet

Learn to use a table to sort and filter data, apply conditional formatting, and create a pivot table. Use “Logical” and “VLOOKUP” functions, and run a Macro.

Prerequisite: Excel Basics

Publisher Basic

  • Monday, November 9, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn the basics of Publisher while creating your holiday newsletter or cards.

PowerPoint: Basic

  • Tuesday, September 15, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Learn how to create slide presentations in this introductory class.

PowerPoint Extras: Sound and Video

  • Tuesday, October 6, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn to make a multimedia presentation that includes narration, embedded videos, and more.

Prerequisite: Basic PowerPoint skills.

PowerPoint Extras: Charts and Diagrams

  • Thursday, November 12, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn to enhance your presentations with attractive data displays.

Prerequisite: Basic PowerPoint skills.

PowerPoint Extras: Custom Design

  • Thursday, December 10, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Modify design themes and slide masters to control the look of your presentation.

Prerequisite: PowerPoint Basics

Access I

  • Wednesday, October 14, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Learn how to create a relational database. This class covers tables, data integrity, input masks, and relationships.

Prerequisite: Word and Excel Advanced or equivalent skills.

Access II

  • Tuesday, October 20, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Continuing from Microsoft Access I, this class covers forms, queries, reports, macros, and how to export/import data.

Prerequisite: Access I

 

Internet

blue arrowSign up starts August 17 at 9:00 a.m.

Call 847-358-5881 ext. 167 or sign up online.

Facebook Basics

  • Wednesday, September 2. 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 23, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m

This class covers the basics of Facebook, including how people use it to keep in touch with friends and family.

LinkedIn 101

  • Tuesday, September 1, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, December 7, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn how to create an account, build your profile, join groups, make connections, network, and search for jobs on LinkedIn.

Google Drive

  • Monday November 2, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Use Google Drive to archive fi les, collaborate on projects, and as a Microsoft Office alternative. Participants should create a Google account before class.

How to Sell Your Stuff Online

  • Tuesday, October 20, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, December 15, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.

PDF iconHandout

Is your house starting to look like a warehouse? Find out how to turn your clutter into cash using Craigslist, eBay, Amazon, and Etsy.

Diagnosing Health Information on the Internet

  • Thursday, August 20, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

There is a lot of health information available online. Discover how to evaluate health information on the web, as well as find reliable websites for researching health information.

Coding 101

  • Thursday, September 10, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Learn the fundamentals of PHP Coding. This class covers simple coding exercises and introduces building dynamic websites. Participants should be comfortable using a web browser and have prior experience writing HTML.

Coding 102

  • Thursday, September 17, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Continue building PHP skills through more dynamic coding exercises from the Coding 101 class.

Basic Classes

blue arrowSign up starts August 17 at 9:00 a.m.

Call 847-358-5881 ext. 167 or sign up online.

Computer Boot Camp

  • Thursday, September 24, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Start with a review of mouse skills and work your way to becoming an Internet surfer in this fast–paced class. This class is for beginners or “near beginners”.

iPad for Older Adults

  • Friday, September 4, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, October 29, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.
  • Friday, November 13, 9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

Understand the basics of using an iPad and downloading some of the best senior-centric apps. Discover iPad features, controls, and settings as well as how to navigate and organize your screens.

Computer Class Series for Older Adults

This series is progressive. When you sign up, you are committing for the whole set.

Set 1: 1:00 – 2:30 p.m.

  • Wednesday, September 9
  • Friday, September 11
  • Wednesday, September 16
  • Friday, September 18

Set 2: 1:00 – 2:30 p.m.

  • Wednesday, October 14
  • Friday, October 16
  • Wednesday, October 21
  • Friday, October 23

pdf iconHandout - Mousing Around 1

pdf iconHandout - Mousing Around 2

pdf iconHandout - The Browser

pdf iconHandout - Browser Basics

pdf iconHandout - Windows Basics

Start from the beginning and improve your computer skills. No mouse skills required.

 

Library Downloads

blue arrowSign up starts August 17 at 9:00 a.m.

Call 847-358-5881 ext. 167 or sign up online.

Bring your device, account information, and Palatine Library card with PIN.

Download to Kindle Fire/HD

  • Thursday, October 22, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 17, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Learn how to download ebooks, audiobooks, movies, and music from MyMediaMall, 3M Cloud Library, and Hoopla to your Kindle Fire/HD.

Compatible devices:

  • Kindle Fire/HD

Download to Tablets and Smartphones

  • Monday, November 30, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, December 16, 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Learn how to download ebooks, audiobooks, movies, and music from MyMediaMall, 3M Cloud Library, and Hoopla to your tablet or smartphone.

Compatible devices:

  • Android smartphones/tablets
  • iPad/iPhone
  • Microsoft smartphones/tablets

Digital Media

blue arrowSign up starts August 17 at 9:00 a.m.

Call 847-358-5881 ext. 180 or sign up online.

Find the Right App for That

  • Wednesday, September 9, 6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Learn how to find, evaluate, and manage mobile apps. We’ll end the meeting with an app share.

DIY Virtual Reality with Google Cardboard STEM

  • Thursday, September 17, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Can’t wait for the Occulus Rift? Make your own virtual reality viewer with Google Cardboard! A smart phone and knowledge of how to install apps is required. Kits provided.

iPhone Photography

  • Tuesday, September 29, 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Learn how to take better pictures with your iPhone as well as how to use different camera and editing apps.

Buying a Computer or Tablet

  • Wednesday, September 30, 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

This presentation class helps the non-techie person learn about various computer parts and functions when buying a computer or tablet. Learn about the basics of storage space, processors, operating systems, and much more.