Teen Scene

This blog is moderated by the Library on behalf of our TEENS! Visit often and be heard.

Subscribe.

Zombie Prom Photos and Video

It was a "Night to Dismember" for the teens who were at our Zombie Prom last week.  The frightfully undead evening had zombie dancing, makeup effects station, craft, and even a costume contest. We ended the night with all of the costumed patricipants posing for a group photo. Thanks to all...

More

Afterhours Zombie Prom for Teens

They're coming...  Friday, April 24, will truly be a night to dismember! Teens are invited to Afterhours Zombie Prom from 7:00-8:30 pm at the Main Library. The Library will be open - but just for zombies in 7th through 12th grade. Enjoy pizza, music, brain bucket trivia, and other activities...

More

Graphic Novel Review: Howtoons

Tucker and Celine are just doing what they do best--stirring up a little mischief--when their desperate mom challenges them to "make something other than trouble." Vivid comic panels relay easy-to-follow instructions that whisk Tucker and Celine (and the reader) away on an adventure in repurposing...

More

Teen Job and Volunteer Fair FAQ

Do you want to get a jumpstart on your job search or are you looking for volunteer hours for school? On Saturday, February 28, from noon-3 pm, stop by to connect with area nonprofits and businesses and meet with representatives from: The Bridge Youth and Family Services Buehler YMCA Chipotle...

More

Teen Review: Falling into Place

Happy New Year! Here is our first teen book review of 2015, written by Maria L., one of our Teen Advisory Board volunteers:  Fans of Ellen Hopkins and Jay Asher will love Amy Zhang's first novel, Falling into Place. In this teen fiction novel, Amy Zhang demonstrates that popularity doesn't...

More

Teen Review: The Scar Boys

Looking for something good to read? Here's a book review written by Sarah H., one of our Teen Advisory Board members:  Fantasy is taking over these days. Dystopian novels are all the rage and it is hard to find new books that aren't fantasy, dystopian, or sci-fi. I was volunteering at the...

More

Spooky Reads for Teens

Looking for your next great book to read? Here's a tantalizing mix of new titles offering chills and thrills, perfect reading for this time of year. So, give one of these a try--if you dare. Don't see anything you like? Ask one of our librarians for a recommendation or try this list: Teens' Top Ten...

More

It's Teen Read Week

So, Happy Teen Read Week! What exactly is Teen Read Week? That's a great question. It's an annual initiative celebrated in October in libraries across the country to encourage teens to read, visit, and use libraries often.  In the spirit of Teen Read Week, here are just four of many services...

More

Teen Fiction Review: Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

14-year-old Laurel is struggling. She's starting high school, and she isn't sure who she is or who she wants to be--and her whole world has been turned upside-down. Her beloved older sister, May, has died unexpectedly; her parents' marriage has disintegrated; and her mom has "temporarily" moved to...

More

Good Summer Reads: Kindergarten through High School

Looking for something good to read this summer? Last week, we presented this slideshow with about 40 titles to K-8th grade District 15 teachers. Part 1 includes titles for Junior High + (high school students and adults are welcome). Part 2 includes new fiction and nonfiction for K-6th grade. Enjoy...

More