Recommendations for Kids

Discover your new favorite book by exploring our curated lists. 

Best New Youth Books

  • Cover image for Glitch

    Glitch

    Sarah Graley

    Glitch

    Sarah Graley

    Izzy has an incredible secret -- she can enter the world of her new video game! She meets Rae, a robot who says Izzy is destined to save Dungeon City from the Big Boss. How is this possible?!

    Read more about Glitch.
  • Cover image for A Place to Belong

    A Place to Belong

    Cynthia Kadohata

    A Place to Belong

    Cynthia Kadohata

    A Japanese-American family, reeling from their ill treatment in the Japanese internment camps, gives up their American citizenship to move back to Hiroshima, unaware of the devastation wreaked by t

    Read more about A Place to Belong.
  • Cover image for A Wolf Called Wander

    A Wolf Called Wander

    Rosanne Parry

    A Wolf Called Wander

    Rosanne Parry

    "A young wolf cub, separated from his pack, journeys 1000 miles across the Pacific Northwest, dealing with forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before finding a new home.

    Read more about A Wolf Called Wander.
  • Cover image for Other Words for Home

    Other Words for Home

    Jasmine Warga

    Other Words for Home

    Jasmine Warga

    A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

    Read more about Other Words for Home.
  • Cover image for Where the Heart Is

    Where the Heart Is

    Jo Knowles

    Where the Heart Is

    Jo Knowles

    If home is where the heart is, what would happen if you lost it? Compassion and humor infuse the story of a family caught in financial crisis and a girl struggling to form her own identity.

    Read more about Where the Heart Is.
  • Cover image for Mya's Strategy to Save the World

    Mya's Strategy to Save the World

    Tanya Lloyd Kyi

    Mya's Strategy to Save the World

    Tanya Lloyd Kyi

    Twelve-year-old Mya Parsons could save the world and organize her family, if only she had her own cell phone. A Dork Diaries for today's socially conscious young readers.

    Read more about Mya's Strategy to Save the World.
  • Cover image for Rocket to the Moon!

    Rocket to the Moon!

    Don Brown

    Rocket to the Moon!

    Don Brown

    On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong took “one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind” when the Apollo 11 landed on the moon. But it wasn’t just one man who got us to the moon.

    Read more about Rocket to the Moon!.

Best New Picture Books & Easy Readers

  • Cover image for Charlie & Mouse Even Better

    Charlie & Mouse Even Better

    Laurel Snyder

    Charlie & Mouse Even Better

    Laurel Snyder

    In this heartwarming follow-up to Laurel Snyder's awardwinning beginning chapter book Charlie & Mouse, the two brothers prepare to celebrate one very special birthday: their mom's!

    Read more about Charlie & Mouse Even Better.
  • Cover image for ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market

    ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market

    Raúl the Third

    ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market

    Raúl the Third

    Richard Scarry’s Busytown gets a Mexican-American makeover in the marketplace of a buzzing border town from Pura Belpré Medal-winning illustrator Raúl the Third.

    Read more about ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market.
  • Cover image for The Titanosaur

    The Titanosaur

    Diego Pol, José Luis Carballido

    The Titanosaur

    Diego Pol, José Luis Carballido

    Scholastic and the American Museum of Natural History join forces in a thrilling new picture book about the discovery of the Titanosaur -- the biggest, heaviest creature to ever walk Earth!

    Read more about The Titanosaur.
  • Cover image for Garden Day!

    Garden Day!

    Candice Ransom

    Garden Day!

    Candice Ransom

    A welcome-to-spring Step 1 reader featuring the family from Pumpkin Day!, Apple Picking Day!, and Snow Day! It's springtime, and the perfect day to plant a garden!

    Read more about Garden Day!.
  • Cover image for Puddle

    Puddle

    Richard Jackson

    Puddle

    Richard Jackson

    A surprising, universal, and gorgeously illustrated story about self-acceptance, love, friendship, and the joy of embracing different perspectives, this beautiful picture book by acclaimed author R

    Read more about Puddle.
  • Cover image for Because

    Because

    Mo Willems

    Because

    Mo Willems

    Mo Willems, a number one New York Times best-selling author and illustrator, composes a powerful symphony of chance, discovery, persistence, and magic in this moving tale of a young girl's journey

    Read more about Because.