Library Closed on Thanksgiving Day

All branches will be closed on Thursday, November 22 for Thanksgiving Day. The Library will reopen on Friday, November 23.

Recommendations for Kids

Discover your new favorite book by exploring our curated lists. 

Best New Youth Books

  • Cover image for The Epic Origin of Super Potato

    The Epic Origin of Super Potato

    Artur Laperla

    The Epic Origin of Super Potato

    Artur Laperla

    Super Max has it all. He's a superhero with a flashy uniform and a great head of hair. Sure, sometimes the evil Dr. Malevolent pops up to cause trouble.

    Read more about The Epic Origin of Super Potato.
  • Cover image for The Sinking of the Vasa

    The Sinking of the Vasa

    Russell Freedman

    The Sinking of the Vasa

    Russell Freedman

    Newbery Medalist Freedman explores the mystery of the sinking of the great Swedish warship, the "Vasa, " on her maiden voyage in 1628, and her resurrection from the seas centuries later.

    Read more about The Sinking of the Vasa.
  • Cover image for Lifeboat 12

    Lifeboat 12

    Susan Hood

    Lifeboat 12

    Susan Hood

    In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy’s harrowing experience on a lifeboat after survivi

    Read more about Lifeboat 12.
  • Cover image for Trapped!

    Trapped!

    James Ponti

    Trapped!

    James Ponti

    Florian Bates—the only kid on the FBI Director’s speed dial and several international criminals’ most wanted lists—must save his friend from being framed for a crime he didn’t commit in this hilari

    Read more about Trapped!.
  • Cover image for Sarai and the Meaning of Awesome

    Sarai and the Meaning of Awesome

    Sarai Gonzalez, Monica Brown

    Sarai and the Meaning of Awesome

    Sarai Gonzalez, Monica Brown

    The first book in a brand-new illustrated chapter book series inspired by the life of 11-year-old viral video star and social activist Sarai Gonzalez.

    Read more about Sarai and the Meaning of Awesome.
  • Cover image for Game Changer

    Game Changer

    Tommy Greenwald

    Game Changer

    Tommy Greenwald

    While thirteen-year-old Teddy fights for his life after a football injury at training camp, his friends and family gather to support him and discuss events leading to his coma.

    Read more about Game Changer.
  • Cover image for Ogre Enchanted

    Ogre Enchanted

    Gail Carson Levine

    Ogre Enchanted

    Gail Carson Levine

    Set in the world of the Newbery Honor-winning Ella Enchanted, this tale by beloved author Gail Carson Levine stars a clever heroine who is determined to defy expectations—and outwit a fairy’s curse

    Read more about Ogre Enchanted.
  • Cover image for Charlie Hernández & the League of Shadows

    Charlie Hernández & the League of Shadows

    Ryan Calejo

    Charlie Hernández & the League of Shadows

    Ryan Calejo

    “This is a perfect pick for kids who love Rick Riordan’s many series, particularly for those eager for mythologies beyond Greek and Roman stories.” —Booklist (starred review) “A winner for all kids

    Read more about Charlie Hernández & the League of Shadows.

Best New Picture Books & Easy Readers