Databases

Database Type
A B C D E F G H I L M N P R S T V W

Access Newspaper Archive

400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more. A great resource genealogy or historical research.

In library use only.

Ancestry Library Edition

Genealogy research tool, including census records, military records, probate records, directories, and more.

In library use only.

Ancestry.com

Access to approximately 12.7 billion genealogy records, including census records, military records, probate records, directories, and more.

In library use only. Please see a staff member to login.

ArticleFirst

OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

Auto Repair Source

Accurate, authoritative and up-to-date “do-it-yourself” service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.

Big Interview

Practice for job interviews with video tutorials and virtual practice software. 

Biography In Context

Biographies and full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, as well as images and links to vetted websites.

BrainFuse HelpNow

Free one-to-one homework help, skills building, test preparation, and writing assistance. LIVE tutoring assistance is available daily from 2-11 PM.

Business Insights: Global

Global business case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals, and topical reference materials organized by country, company, and industry.

Chicago Sun-Times Collection

Explore Chicago history through local news, events, and people with the Chicago Sun-Times Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Consumer Health Complete

Accurate, authoritative and up-to-date “do-it-yourself” service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.

Creativebug

Presented by Jo-Ann Stores, Creativebug, offers educational and professional tools that focus on arts and crafts presented by recognized experts. Browse and get inspired by thousands of classes on sewing, illustration, painting, crafting, holiday décor, and much more!

Note: Creativebug requires a free user profile that will appear in class user lists and will be used to participate in discussion forums. When posting messages, your profile and comments are visible to the general public.

Enjoy our Winter Holiday Crafts and Creativebug Tik Tok.

Daily Herald Collection

Explore Palatine area history through local news, events, and people with the Daily Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.

ECO

An index of articles from scholarly journals.

ERIC

Journal articles and reports in education.

Fold3.com

Access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

In Library use only. Please see a staff member to login. 

Gale Business Courses

Online courses from accounting and finance to starting your own business. Courses are offered once a month and span 6 weeks.

Gale Courses

Over 350 online courses in personal and professional development. Courses are offered once a month and span 6 weeks.

High School – Gale in Context

Reference sources, full-text articles, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia on history, literature, science, social studies and more.

Mango Languages

An online language learning tool that offers courses in Spanish, Polish, English, Mandarin, and more.

MasterFILE Premier

Provides full text to magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. This database also provides an Image Collection

Medline

Full-text articles on all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

Miss Humblebee's Academy

Online curriculum for children preschool through kindergarten. Includes math, science, social studies, language, art, and music.

NetAdvantage from Standard & Poors

Includes Standard & Poor's Bond Guide, Corporation Records, Dividend Record, Earnings Guide, Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports, The Outlook, Standard & Poor's Register, Stock Guide, and Standard & Poor's Stock Reports.

In library use only.

NewspaperDirect Press Display

Full-text access 6000+ newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages. Current back to 90 days.

Follow these steps to access PressReader:
    1. Click Sign in
    2. Click Library or Group and search for your library
    3. Enter your library card number and PIN

Newspapers.com

Access to 3400 U.S. newspapers from the 1700s-2000s.

In Library use only. Please see a staff member to login.

NoveList K-8 Plus

Discover great books for children from kindergarten through grade 8. Browse lists of award-winning titles, or search for books by grade level or Lexile score.

NoveList Plus

Book recommendations and reviews for adult and teen fiction and non-fiction.

ProQuest Newsstand

Full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers and periodicals, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, and the Chicago Tribune, Issues may go back as far as 1984.

Inside the Library: Click here.

Outside the Library: Click here.

Public Records

Find new homeowners, new businesses, foreclosures, and bankruptcies for Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry and Will Counties.

ReadIt!

Read It! is for middle/high school students, and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.

Reference Solutions

Detailed information on U.S. businesses, residents, and health care providers; also includes 1.5 million Canadian businesses. Research companies and search job postings in the Jobs/Internships module.

Science – Gale in Context

Information for assignments and projects, covering subjects like earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, and science history and biography.

Tumblebooks

An online collection animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love.

ValueLine

Current and historical market and financial data. Includes over 1,700 actively traded U.S. stocks.

Weiss Financial Ratings Online

Independent ratings on U.S. banks, thrifts, and insurance companies. Also distributes independent ratings on publicly traded companies, mutual funds, closed-end funds, and ETFs.